Displaying the real SharePoint error

I am picking up some coding for SharePoint at work again and starting to remember all the stuff I forgot. :-P

You have to love SharePoint error messages. For example, “an error has occurred”. I’m all for not intimidating the user but that is a bit terse. They could at least put the “technical information” somewhere on the screen for the poor guy who has to figure out the problem.  Ah well, fortunately there is a fix to get much more information. You just need a modification to the web.config file for your web app.

Search for <customErrors mode=”on”> and replace it with <customErrors mode=”off>.

Search for callStack=”false” (it should be in a SafeMode tag) and replace it with callStack=”true“.

Now you should get somewhat more helpful messages. Good luck!

This entry was posted in SharePoint. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Displaying the real SharePoint error

  1. Hello! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after reading through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Nonetheless, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll be book-marking
    and checking back often!

Leave a Reply

