Resurrection

So I’ve decided to resurrect my blog and start adding stuff again. I am amazed this place was still getting hits, though no comments for quite some time (other than spam which was thankfully blocked). I intend to maintain a technical focus, but as I am now wearing different hats as a BI analyst, the things I post may be on a somewhat different slant than what has come before – a little less sysadmin-oriented.

If you are not aware of the term “BI”, it is an acronym for Business Intelligence, and includes things like dimensional modeling, data warehousing, data ‘cubes’, OLAP, etc. Products we use include IBM Cognos, Informatica, MS SSIS, and we are looking at others like Oracle’s product line. I work in state government and our department is funded by various state agencies, so although it would be nice to settle on one toolset, that is probably not realistic. That is strictly my opinion, for the record. :P

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

