Starting a VMware guest freezes Vista

VMs are indispensable for testing software. At work, I had previously used VMware Server 1.x on Windows XP without any real problems. Unlike Workstation which might actually be better for test VMs, Server is free, and it is always easier to use free than to get approval for the company to spend money. So when I recently received a new laptop as part of the standard hardware replacement cycle at work, I updated to Vista. This was after it was ordered with XP because Vista is not approved software, and exceptions are too much bother to get but it is already covered under our licensing with Microsoft. But I digress… So of course I loaded VMware on it, but being Vista I expected I might run into some problems. I was not disappointed. It went fine for the most part, probably because I do run as a local administrator and had already disabled the very annoying UAC (User Account Control). However, when starting a VM, Vista would be completely, totally, utterly unresponsive for 5 minutes or more while the hard drive activity light went solid. Sigh.

I found some information on tweaking AV exclusions or this or that VMware setting, to no avail until I found an article that had information that actually solved the problem. It turns out to be aggressive swapping, whether Vista or VMware I am not entirely clear. The trick to the whole thing – in my situation anyway – was to set the host settings such that VMware did not allow swapping out the guest but rather kept it in RAM. I have 4G so this was not a problem for me. You will find the setting under menu item Host->Settings, over on the Memory tab. Be sure to set aside the maximum you will ever want to use concurrently, and add some for VMware overhead. I used an extra 512M but you can likely get by with 256M or maybe less. Then, and this is the most important part, select the option to Fit all virtual machine memory into reserved host RAM which is not the default. That is really the core of the solution, once you have enough memory allocated. Incidentally, VMware will tell you if you didn’t give it enough memory when you try to start a VM that pushes it over the limit.

Not ideal as you do need a fair bit of RAM, but it does solve the problem.

This entry was posted in Vista. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Starting a VMware guest freezes Vista

  1. midspot says:

    Interesting…

    Back when I was young and foolish and tried running VMware Server on Vista I had problems that were similar but seemed to go away after I disabled the Areo (sp?) Glass interface.

    Then I really solved the problem by just using Linux as my host and keeping Windows where it belongs – in an isolated vmware image!

  2. Brin says:

    Hello, nice site :)

  3. JustBlaze says:

    I found out that running VMware server as an administrator fixes this problem.

  4. Adrian Dickreiter says:

    I was having the same problem. I noticed that when I power up my host computer I always had about a 20 to 30 minute wait once I tried to launch a guest virtual computer before the computer was usable at all. I noticed the hard drive was grinding away the whole time. My solution was to get a extreme speed USB flash drive, like the OCZ ATV 4GB Turbo which I purchased. Set it up for ReadyBoost and then start up your virtual computer. My startup time where my computer is completely unusable went from 20 to 30 minutes (never did figure out why there was such a variance) down to about 2 to 3 minutes. Make sure you get an extreme speed flash drive though.

  5. Pingback: ivixlog » Blog Archive » Starting a VMware guest freezes Vista « BDBits Bytes

  6. This article did help “some” as well as the comment about running the console as adminstrator. However i resolved it completely by allocating the entire disk when I created a new vm image. I used exactly the same settings except that I kept the default setting this time to allocate the disk now instead of making it dynamic. This ended my problem entirely.

  7. Brian says:

    Thanks!

  8. Rai says:

    Thanks for this info! I’ve been having exactly the same problem when I start a VM in Vista – the host would go unresponsive for about 5 minutes. I’ll try this at home… Hopefully, this’ll solve my problem. Thanks again!

  9. Christian says:

    When I read this, I was thinking; “Why haven’t I tried this while workaround?”. But, thanks for the info, because it works just fine when turning off memory swapping :)

  10. Clayton says:

    Thank you! Running the VMWare Server Console as Adminsitrator solved my problem too!

  11. jumanji says:

    I have the same problem, but none of the solutions presented both in the article and comments worked for me…

    Vista is the worst system I’ve ever worked on…

Leave a Reply

